Composition for Orchestra

The aim of the Competition is
to encourage composers from all over the world
to create new pieces for orchestra
and to promote contemporary creation!

“Nikos Skalkottas 2019”

International Competition Composition
For Orchestra 

The members of the Jury will be announced through the Competition’s website after June 2019 and will be chosen for their international reputation in the world of music creation.

The Jury will select one work which will receive the “Nikos Skalkottas” Prize plus 3.500 euros . The awarded work will be performed on the 29th of November 2019 by the Athens State Orchestra at Megaron – the Athens Concert Hall during the first day the International Conference “Skalkottas Today”.

There will also be another Prize of  1.700 euros for the best work by a young Greek composer (born after 1984), which is kindly provided by the Athens State Orchestra. The performance of this work is scheduled for the first semester of 2020.  

Terms and conditions of participation

Nationalities - Age limit - Registration fees

The competition is open to composers of all nationalities with no age limit and without registration fees.

Submitted Works

The submitted works must not have been previously published, performed, broadcasted or submitted at a different competition.

The duration of the work

The contestants will submit one work for symphonic orchestra that must last between 12 and 15 minutes. The duration of the piece must be written on the score.



All strings must be included and at least 12 players of the other groups.

The use of electronics, voice or solo instruments is not permitted.

Legible and Anonymous

The musical score must be perfectly legible and anonymous, marked only with the title of the work and a 6 – digit code. If there is any proof of the candidate’s identity, the work will be automatically eliminated of the process.


The submission deadline is Monday, 26th August 2019, and in order to be considered as final, there must an electronic submission and a postal submission

Additional Terms and conditions of participation

Instrumentation (more)

Strings: 14 – 12 – 10 – 8 – 6
Woodwinds: 3 flutes (incl. one piccolo / one alto),3 oboe (incl. one English horn), 3 clarinets (incl. one bass clarinet / Eb clarinet), 3 bassoons (incl. one double bassoon)
Brass: 4 French horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, 1 tuba
Percussion: 4 players (one for timpani). Composers should include a detailed list of required instruments. 

Piano or celesta:

Deadline (more)

The submission deadline is Monday, 26th August 2019, and in order to be considered as final, there must an electronic submission and a postal submission:  

A) Directly on a specific electronic platform which address will be announced through the Competition’s website

B) By simple and non-registered postal mail not later than the indicated closing date for the electronic submission (the postmark date will serve as proof). The mail folder must include two identical both – sides printed copies, accompanied by a sealed envelope. Each score of the work must be bound with all pages consecutively numbered and the sealed envelope must be marked with the same 6 – digit code, written on the top of their score.

The sealed envelope must include:

  1. An official proof of identity (copy of passport or identity card)
  2. A short curriculum vitae (150 words)
  3. A solemn declaration by the composer at the Official Registration Form “Nikos Skalkottas 2019” – appearing at the website of the Competition, that their work is original and has not been previously published, performed, broadcasted or awarded by another competition.

The address for the postal mail is:

Greek Composers’ Union c/o Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall

Vas. Sophias Av. & Kokkali Str. 115 21 Athens, Greece

For the “Nikos Skalkottas 2019” International Competition


Other details

There can be one submission for every candidate, in two identical printed copies.

Collective works by more than one composer will be considered as one submission. If a collective work is submitted, none of the composers participating at the collective is allowed to submit an individual work. One person should be indicated as the recipient of the award in case the work is one of the winning pieces.

The members of the Jury cannot participate at the Contest. The Jury may also decide not to award any prize, if the majority considers that the works do not correspond to the standards of the competition.The Jury has the right to award Honorary Mentions for works that have not been awarded yet they have been considered of high artistic value.

The announcement of Jury’s selection will be posted at the website of the competition www.skalkottascompetition.comon Monday 30 September 2019. The prize – winner will receive precise instructions concerning the orchestral materialof the work and will be invited at the Award Ceremony and Premiere of the work on the 29th of November 2019. In case the winner does not reside in Athens, the accommodation costs will be covered by the Organizers.

The Jury’s decisions cannot be appealed and will also be posted also at the websites of the partners of «Nikos Skalkottas 2019» events, i.e. the Athens State Orchestra, the Friends of Music Society and Megaron – the Athens Concert Hall.

Works that do not follow the Terms and Conditions of the Competition will be excluded.

The winner will bear all legal deduction.

Musical scores and documents will not be returned to the sender and will be recycled after 31 – 12 – 2019.

The organizers of the Competition reserve the right to cancel the event due to force majeure

By agreeing to take part in the competition, all competitors undertake to accept and not to contest the decisions of the Organizers.



14 + 5 =