Composition for Orchestra

The aim of the Competition is
to encourage composers from all over the world
to create new pieces for orchestra
and to promote contemporary creation!

“Nikos Skalkottas 2019”

Commemorating the 70th anniversary since the death of the prominent Greek composer Nikos Skalkottas, the Athens State Orchestra and the Greek Composers’ Union organize an International Competition for Orchestra.

Greek Composers’ Union

The Greek Composers’ Union was founded on June 8th 1931. Its’ main aims are the protection and promotion of the Greek musical creations, the development of solidarity between the Greek composers, and the protection of their professional and artistic rights. Since 1931, the Union has not relented in pursuing these goals, even during the Second World War.

Its members include the most distinguished Greek composers such as Dimitris Mitropoulos, Manolis Kalomiris, Nikos Skalkottas, Antiochos Evangelatos, Iannis Xenakis, Jani Christou, George Sisilianos and Theodore Antoniou.

Athens State Orchestra

The Athens State Orchestra is the oldest orchestral ensemble in Greece. Founded in the late 19th century as the Athens Conservatory Symphony Orchestra, it went through various names as well as forms of operation. Its first concert as the Athens State Orchestra was held on February 28th, 1943.

Ever since its foundation, the Athens State Orchestra has been offering to the Greek audience the opportunity to get acquainted with the masterpieces of the world’s repertoire, while it’s the main interpreter of the local music. 

Cooperating Partners

This collaboration between the two artistic institutions has been initiated whithin  the framework of the series of events that will occur during “2019 – Nikos Skalkottas Year”, in collaboration with the Friends of Music Society, Megaron the – Athens Concert Hall and the Emilios Chourmouzios – Marika Papaioannou Foundation.

“Nikos Skalkottas 2019”

International Competition Composition
For Orchestra 

The members of the Jury will be announced through the Competition’s website after June 2019 and will be chosen for their international reputation in the world of music creation.

The Jury will select one work which will receive the “Nikos Skalkottas” Prize plus 3.500 euros . The awarded work will be performed on the 29th of November 2019 by the Athens State Orchestra at Megaron – the Athens Concert Hall during the first day the International Conference “Skalkottas Today”.

There will also be another Prize of  1.700 euros for the best work by a young Greek composer (born after 1984), which is kindly provided by the Athens State Orchestra. The performance of this work is scheduled for the first semester of 2020.  

“Nikos Skalkottas 2019”

International Competition Composition
For Orchestra 

Terms and conditions of participation

Nationalities - Age limit - Registration fees

The competition is open to composers of all nationalities with no age limit and without registration fees.

Submitted Works

The submitted works must not have been previously published, performed, broadcasted or submitted at a different competition.

The duration of the work

The contestants will submit one work for symphonic orchestra that must last between 12 and 15 minutes. The duration of the piece must be written on the score.



All strings must be included and at least 12 players of the other groups.

The use of electronics, voice or solo instruments is not permitted.

Legible and Anonymous

The musical score must be perfectly legible and anonymous, marked only with the title of the work and a 6 – digit code. If there is any proof of the candidate’s identity, the work will be automatically eliminated of the process.


The submission deadline is Monday, 26th August 2019,and in order to be considered as final, there must an electronic submission and a postal submission


10 + 2 =