Composition for Orchestra

The aim of the Competition is
to encourage composers from all over the world
to create new pieces for orchestra
and to promote contemporary creation!

“Nikos Skalkottas 2019”

International Competition Composition
For Orchestral Works 

Commemorating the 70th anniversary since the passing of the prominent Greek composer Nikos Skalkottas,
the Greek Composers Union announced an International Composition Competition whose aim was to encourage composers from all over the world to create new pieces for orchestra and to promote contemporary creation.

There arrived sixty-four pieces for orchestra, all of them of high quality, as noticed by the members of the Jury that selected the piece NEOTTIAN by Euripides Bekos ,
to win the “Nikos Skalkottas Prize”.
The winning composition will be performed on the 29th of November 2019 by the Athens State Orchestra at Megaron – the Athens Concert Hall, in the frame of the International Conference entitled ‘Skalkottas Today’.

The same work also won the Prize provided by the Athens State Orchestra for the best work written
by a young Greek composer born after 1984.   

During 2019 there has been a series of events which commemorate the 70th anniversary of Skalkotas’s death, co-organised by the Greek Composers’ Union, the Athens State Orchestra, the Friends of Music Society, Megaron – the Athens Concert Hall and the ‘Emilios Chourmouzios – Marika Papaioannou Foundation’.

Members of the Jury

Titos Gouvelis, pianist – Greece

Konstantia Gourzi, composer and conductor, Professor at the University of Music and Performing Arts, Munich – Germany  

Iakovos Konitopoulos, composer and conductor, General Secretary of the Greek Composers’ Union – Greece

Miltos Logiades, conductor, Artistic Director of the Athens Concert Hall, Professor at the Ionian University – Greece

Joseph Papadatos, composer, Professor and
Vice Rector at the Ionian University,
President of the Greek Composers’ Union – Greece

Christos Samaras, composer, Professor at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – Greece

Evis Sammoutis, composer, Assistant Professor at Ithaca College, NY – USA

Stefanos Tsialis, conductor, Artistic Director of the Athens State Orchestra – Greece

George Tsontakis, composer and conductor – USA

Calliope Tsoupaki, composer, Composition Teacher at the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague, Composer Laureate of the Netherlands 2018 / 2020 – Netherlands


Η Ένωσις Ελλήνων Μουσουργών,συμμετέχοντας στις εκδηλώσεις για το «2019 Έτος Νίκου Σκαλκώτα» και θέλοντας να τιμήσει τη μνήμη του σπουδαίου Έλληνα συνθέτη, προκήρυξε Διεθνή Διαγωνισμό Σύνθεσης για συμφωνική ορχήστρα, με σκοπό να δώσει την ευκαιρία σε συνθέτες απ’ όλον τον κόσμο να συνθέσουν νέα έργα για ορχήστρα και
να προαγάγει τη σύγχρονη μουσική δημιουργία.  

Στην Ένωση Ελλήνων Μουσουργών κατατέθηκαν εξήντα τέσσερα έργα υψηλού επιπέδου, όπως διαπίστωσαν ομόφωνα όλα τα μέλη της Κριτικής Επιτροπής. NEOTTIAN του Ευριπίδη Μπέκου,
το οποίο και θα λάβει το βραβείο «Νίκος Σκαλκώτας».
Το βραβευμένο έργο θα συμπεριληφθεί στο πρόγραμμα της συναυλίας της 29ης Νοεμβρίου 2019 της Κρατικής Ορχήστρας Αθηνών στο Μέγαρο Μουσικής Αθηνών, η οποία θα γίνει στο πλαίσιο του Διεθνούς Συνεδρίου“
SkalkottasToday”, που θα πραγματοποιηθεί με την υποστήριξη της Διεθνούς Μουσικολογικής Εταιρείας.

Η Επιτροπή επέλεξε επίσης το ίδιο έργο για το δεύτερο βραβείο το οποίο προσφέρει η Κρατική Ορχήστρα Αθηνών για το καλύτερο έργο νέου Έλληνα συνθέτη, ηλικίας κάτω των τριανταπέντε ετών.

Κατά το 2019 έχουν ήδη πραγματοποιηθεί πολλές δράσεις για το «Έτος Σκαλκώτα», με συνδιοργανωτές την Ένωση Ελλήνων Μουσουργών, την Κρατική Ορχήστρα Αθηνών, τον Σύλλογο «Οι Φίλοι της Μουσικής», τον Οργανισμό Μεγάρου Μουσικής Αθηνών και το «Ίδρυμα Αιμίλιος Χουρμούζιος – Μαρίκα Παπαïωάννου».

Τα μέλη της Κριτικής Επιτροπής

Τίτος Γουβέλης, πιανίστας – Ελλάδα

Κωνσταντία Γουρζή, συνθέτις και μαέστρος, Καθηγήτρια στην Ανώτατη Ακαδημία Μουσικής και Θεάτρου του Μονάχου – Γερμανία

Ιάκωβος Κονιτόπουλος, συνθέτης και μαέστρος, Γενικός Γραμματέας της Ένωσης  Ελλήνων Μουσουργών – Ελλάδα

Μίλτος Λογιάδης, μαέστρος, Καλλιτεχνικός Διευθυντής του Οργανισμού Μεγάρου Μουσικής Αθηνών, Καθηγητής Ιονίου Πανεπιστημίου – Ελλάδα

Ιωσήφ Παπαδάτος, συνθέτης, Αντιπρύτανης Ιονίου Πανεπιστημίου, Πρόεδρος της Ένωσης Ελλήνων Μουσουργών – Ελλάδα

Χρήστος Σαμαράς, συνθέτης, Καθηγητής Αριστοτελείου Πανεπιστημίου Θεσσαλονίκης – Ελλάδα

Εύης Σαμμούτης, συνθέτης, Επίκουρος Καθηγητής στο Ithaca College NY – Η.Π.Α.

Στέφανος Τσιαλής, μαέστρος, Καλλιτεχνικός Διευθυντής της Κρατικής Ορχήστρας Αθηνών – Ελλάδα

Γιώργος Τσοντάκης, συνθέτης και μαέστρος – Η.Π.Α.

Καλλιόπη Τσουπάκη, συνθέτις, Καθηγήτρια στο Βασιλικό Ωδείο της Χάγης, Εθνική Συνθέτις της Ολλανδίας 2018 / 2020 – Ολλανδία

“Nikos Skalkottas 2019”

Commemorating the 70th anniversary since the death of the prominent Greek composer Nikos Skalkottas, the Athens State Orchestra and the Greek Composers’ Union organize an International Competition for Orchestra.

Greek Composers’ Union

The Greek Composers’ Union was founded on June 8th 1931. Its’ main aims are the protection and promotion of the Greek musical creations, the development of solidarity between the Greek composers, and the protection of their professional and artistic rights. Since 1931, the Union has not relented in pursuing these goals, even during the Second World War.

Its members include the most distinguished Greek composers such as Dimitris Mitropoulos, Manolis Kalomiris, Nikos Skalkottas, Antiochos Evangelatos, Iannis Xenakis, Jani Christou, George Sisilianos and Theodore Antoniou.

Athens State Orchestra

The Athens State Orchestra is the oldest orchestral ensemble in Greece. Founded in the late 19th century as the Athens Conservatory Symphony Orchestra, it went through various names as well as forms of operation. Its first concert as the Athens State Orchestra was held on February 28th, 1943.

Ever since its foundation, the Athens State Orchestra has been offering to the Greek audience the opportunity to get acquainted with the masterpieces of the world’s repertoire, while it’s the main interpreter of the local music. 

Cooperating Partners

This collaboration between the two artistic institutions has been initiated whithin  the framework of the series of events that will occur during “2019 – Nikos Skalkottas Year”, in collaboration with the Friends of Music Society, Megaron the – Athens Concert Hall and the Emilios Chourmouzios – Marika Papaioannou Foundation.


5 + 14 =